Appointments and Searches


One of my first priorities as president is to fill several executive leadership positions. Last week, I announced two key appointments:

Andrew C. Comrie
Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost

Suzanne Y. Ornelas
Chief of Staff and Liaison to the Arizona Board of Regents

Together with other leaders on campus, I am actively working to fill the remaining vacancies:

Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost
Search Advisory Committee
John Paul Jones, Dean, College of Social and Behavioral Sciences – Chair
Holly A. Altman, Director, Alumni Affairs – Special Events, College of Medicine
Zachary Brooks, President, Graduate and Professional Student Council
Javier Duran, Director, Confluence Center for Creative Inquiry
Chris Impey, University Distinguished Professor, Department of Astronomy
Laura Lopez Hoffman, Assistant Professor, Udall Center for Studies in Public Policy, School of Natural Resources and the Environment
Wanda H. Howell, Chair of the Faculty and University Distinguished Professor, Department of Nutritional Sciences
Thomas Koch, Dean, College of Optical Sciences
Jesse D. Martinez, Professor, Department of Cellular and Molecular Medicine
Ronald W. Marx, Dean, College of Education
Toni M. Massaro, Regents' Professor, James E. Rogers College of Law
Katy Murray, Student Body President, Associated Students of the University of Arizona
Kimberly Ogden, Professor, Chemical and Environmental Engineering
John W. Olsen, Regents' Professor, School of Anthropology
Marilyn Taylor, Assistant Vice President, Finance Administration, Office of the Provost

Senior Vice President for University Relations
Search Advisory Committee
Robert Lusch, Professor of Marketing, Eller College of Management – Chair
Michele Barnard, Vice President, Marketing and Communications, UA Health Network
Sarah Beaudry, Vice President, Communications, UA Alumni Association
Johnny Cruz, Assistant Vice President, University Communications, Office of External Relations
Karen Filippelli, Associate Vice President, Finance and Administration, Executive Office of the President
Brian Kish, Senior Vice President, Central Development, UA Foundation
Patricia Sias, Senior Lecturer, Organizational Leadership/Communications, McGuire Center for Entrepreneurship, Eller College of Management
Melissa Vito, Vice President, Student Affairs

Senior Vice President for Health Sciences
Search Advisory Committee
Fernando Martinez, Director of the BIO5 Institute, Arizona Respiratory Center, Clinical Translational Science Initiative, Swift-McNear Professor of Pediatrics, Regents' Professor – Chair
Mara Aspinall, President, Ventana Medical Systems Inc.
Anne Cress, Deputy Dean for Research, College of Medicine
Gordon Ewy, Director, UA Sarver Heart Center
Karen Filippelli, Associate Vice President, Finance & Administration, Executive Office of the President
Lynn Gerald, Associate Dean for Research, Canyon Ranch Endowed Chair, Mel and Enid Zuckerman College of Public Health
Rainer Gruessner, Chair, Department of Surgery
Jack Jewett, President and CEO, Flinn Foundation
Steve Lynn, Chair of the Board, UA Health Network
Terry Monks, Professor and Chair, Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology
Leslie Ritter, Professor, College of Nursing and Department of Neurology, William M. Feinberg MD Endowed Chair for Stroke Research
Joaquin Ruiz, Executive Dean, Colleges of Letters Arts & Sciences
Joan Shapiro, Associate Dean for Research, UA College of Medicine, Phoenix
Leslie Tolbert, Senior Vice President for Research

In the coming months, I look forward to bringing together a team whose talents and skills can help move the University of Arizona to even greater heights.

Ann Weaver Hart